The University of Florence (Università degli Studi di Firenze) is a young university with ancient roots. The University of Florence has its origins in the Studium Generale that the Florentine republic established in 1321. Disciplines were then taught the law, civil and canon, letters and medicine. The modern university dates from 1859. Ten of the twelve faculties were established between 1924 and 1938: the Faculty of Agriculture, Architecture, Economics, Pharmacy, Law, Humanities, Teaching, Medicine and Surgery, Mathematical, Physical and Natural Sciences. Engineering was added in 1970 and in 2002, the Faculty of Psychology was formed. Today, with approximately 59,500 students, it is one of the largest research organizations and higher education in Italy.